The big day is here — Saturday is Election Day.

Hundreds of votes have already been cast in contested city and school elections across the area.

Voters’ last chance to cast a ballot in their municipal elections will be 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Election Day.

You will need to bring one of seven acceptable forms of photo ID when you vote: A Texas-issued driver’s license; a Texas election identification certificate; a personal ID card; a Texas license to carry a handgun; a U.S. military ID card; a U.S. citizenship certificate; or a U.S. passport.


The city of Temple has two City Council races to decide.

In North Temple, voters will decide between incumbent Councilwoman Jessica Walker, who owns Lengefeld Lumber Co. with her husband, and challenger Jeffrey Ware, the Bell County Republican Party vice chairman, for the District 1 seat.

Over in West Temple, three men are vying for the District 4 seat. They are AT&T engineer Joey Agee, 42; retired U.S. Foreign Service officer Gussie Daniels, 78; and retired banker Wendell Williams, 71.

With three candidates competing for the District 4 seat, a runoff may be in the cards. A candidate must secure over 50 percent of the vote to avoid a runoff.

The winner of that race will succeed former Councilman Mike Pilkington — who resigned in January after reports surfaced about his December 2017 driving while intoxicated arrest in Corpus Christi.

Temple voters can cast their ballot at the Fred Poteet Building — west of the Municipal Building — at 120 W. Central Ave.


Voters in neighboring Belton will decide four at-large seats on the City Council.

The candidates are financial advisor John Holmes, 52; Hope for the Hungry President and Founder Dan Kirkley, 72; engineer and businessman David K. Leigh, 51; First Baptist Church Belton executive pastor Craig Pearson, 68; and retired PCB designer Cindy Black, 63.

Holmes, Kirkley, Leigh and Pearson are incumbents while Black is a first-time candidate.

Belton residents can vote at the Harris Community Center, 401 N. Alexander St.


Salado residents will decide on candidates for the board of aldermen and the school board.

Former Alderman Amber Preston Dankert, Rodney Bell, John Cole and Linda Reynolds are seeking three at-large seats on the board of aldermen.

Incumbent Jeff Kelley and challengers Amy McLane and Brand Webb are vying for two seats on the Salado Independent School District board of trustees.

Salado voters can cast their ballots in both races at the Salado Civic Center, 601 N. Main St.

Morgan’s Point Resort

In Morgan’s Point Resort, residents will decide who they want to be mayor and who will sit in five City Council seats.

Incumbent Dwayne Gossett and challenger William Bryan are vying for mayor. Incumbents Ronald Snow, Donna Hartman, Bruce Leonhardt and Dennis Green as well as challengers Robert Johnson and Larry Gossett are seeking City Council seats.

Morgan’s Point Resort residents can vote at the Mic and Garrett Event Center, 60 Morgan’s Point Boulevard.


In Rogers, voters will elect a new mayor and two City Council members.

Mayor Tammy Cockrum will face off against her uncle, challenger Billy Crow, for her seat. Incumbents Thomas Williams and Matthew Salladay as well as challengers Della Lashbrook, Henry Garza and Justin Powell are vying for the two at-large Council seats.

Rogers residents also will decide a contested school board race.

Newcomers Jeremy Pelley, Cathy Bruggman and Trey Richter are challenging incumbents Ryan Sebek, Jesus Mejia and David Schiller for three Rogers school board seats.

Voters can cast their ballots at Rogers Civic Center, 4 W. Mesquite Ave.

Troy ISD

Voters in Troy ISD will decide the fate of an $18.25 million bond. They can cast their ballot at the Troy ISD Administration Building, No. 1 Trojan Road.


Six candidates are vying for two seats on the Bartlett City Council. Incumbents Mona Burnett and Sharon Randig face Robert Freeman, Jesse Luna, Isabel De La Rosa-Figueroa and Dean Roome.

Bartlett residents can vote at Bartlett Town Hall, 140 W. Clark St.

Little River-Academy

Little River-Academy voters will decide who they want as mayor. Incumbent Drew Lanham faces a challenge from Jeffrey Thies.

Voters can cast their ballot at Little River-Academy City Hall, 509 E. Main St.

Cameron ISD

Three candidates are seeking two at-large seats on the Cameron school board. Incumbents Alan Patterson and Jason Dohnalik face challenger Annisha Williams.

Cameron ISD voters can cast their ballots at the administration office at 303 E. 12th St.


Rockdale residents will vote for a new mayor and who will represent the East and West wards on the City Council.

Incumbent John King faces challenger Neil Switkowski for the mayor’s seat.

For the East Ward seat, incumbent Joyce Dalley will vie against challenger Michelle Larking. Incumbent Nathan Bland faces challenger Belinda Hillhouse for the West Ward seat.

Residents can cast their ballot at Rockdale City Hall, 505 W. Cameron Ave.