Humanitarian Award - Temple Daily Telegram: Site

default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
Logout|My Dashboard

Humanitarian Award

Frank W. Mayborn Humanitarian Award

The Frank W. Mayborn Humanitarian Award was established in 1991 to honor the memory of Central Texas communications pioneer Frank W. Mayborn by recognizing civic and/or humanitarian service at its highest level in the area of Texas he made his home for nearly 60 years.

At the time of his death in 1987, Mayborn was editor and publisher of the Temple Daily Telegram and of the Killeen Daily Herald which jointly sponsor the award.

Criteria for Nominations:

  • The nominee must have made a significant contribution to public service.
  • The contribution to the community must be humanitarian or civic.
  • The contribution should be something the nominee has done to benefit the greatest number of people.
  • The nominee must be a Central Texan whose work benefitted Central Texans.
  • The nomination should include a detailed description of the nominee’s activities which make him or her a candidate for the award.

Although nominations are sought each year, the Frank W. Mayborn Humanitarian Award is not an annual award and may not be presented in years when the judges deem there is no nominee who satisfactorily meets all of the standards set forth in the rules.

1991 - Jim and Daurice Bowmer 1992 - Deacon Fred Bandas
1993 - Dr. Jeffrey A. Jackson 1994 - Gen. Robert M. Shoemaker
1995 - Erroll Wendland 1997 - Dr. and Mrs. Ralph Wilson Jr.
1998 - William R. Courtney (posthumously) 1999 - Lt. Gen. (Ret.) H.G. "Pete" Taylor
2002 - Lawrence S. Frankel, M.D. 2004 - Jeannette Kelley
2007 - Cynthia Russell