State video award

Texas Association of School Boards director Mildred Watkins, left, Belton New Tech High School seniors Nicholas Mueller, Natasha Blizzard and Ruth Ann Lawson as well as their teacher Kristie Shepherd accept a $2,500 check for winning a video contest. The Belton school board recognized the students during their meeting on Monday at the Pittenger Fine Arts Center. Courtesy photo

BELTON — In a short two-minute video, Belton New Tech High School @ Waskow students showed off their campus’ uniqueness.

They highlighted the school’s award-winning robotics team, classes on video game design and virtual reality, athletics and other extracurricular activities.

That video — which can be watched at — earned Belton New Tech $2,500 in a Texas Association of School Boards contest.

The Belton Independent School district board of trustees on Monday recognized several students and their teacher Kristi Shepherd for their second-place finish.

TASB President Jim de Garavilla said the group sought videos from across the Lone Star State to show why local schools need appropriate funding from the Legislature. Public school finance is among Texas lawmakers’ top priorities this legislative session.

“Your students were asked to create this video. They went beyond what they were asked to do,” Mildred Watkins, who sits on the TASB board of directors, said.

The contest was open to all Texas public schools. Winners were selected in the elementary school, middle school and high school categories.

Seguin High School claimed the top spot in the category in which Belton New Tech competed.

“The students and Kristie did a fantastic job showcasing the benefits of attending New Tech,” Principal Ben Smith said. “The video itself is a product of the exceptional production skills from our practicum audio and video team, and I’m very proud of their work and ability to showcase the value of public education here at Belton ISD.”